A Summer Afternoon

I remember summer afternoons

From my childhood

When I’d buy orange ice lollies

From the cart peddler

And, suck the colour out of it

Till only the ice remained.

The neighbourhood boys

Would stare at me lustily

Imagining themselves perhaps

At the mercy of my mouth

Instead of the sweetened ice stick.

No wonder my brother hated it,

Complaining to my mother

Whenever he accompanied me.

But all I know is that then and there

I felt like a vampire, a wild child,

Sucking blood out of anyone

Who dared to upset me.

It was an innocuous thought

But, felt reckless and adventurous

Much like the spirit of this afternoon.

~ The Amrita Connection

About Amrita Ghosh

About Moi - I like to think I am a simple person while most people tend to disagree. I like lots of things, sometimes quite contrary ones, a
This entry was posted in Adventure, Childhood, Daily Life, dark, Emotions, Experiences, Feelings, happiness, Life, Love, Memories, Musings, My Life, poem, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Reflections, Romance, summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment